Prof. Anjani Sharma

Anjani Kumar Sharma  was Nepal‘s first surgeon. Sharma was born on June 7, 1928, in the remote region of Bhaluwahi in Siraha District in the Terai region of Nepal. Growing up in rural Nepal there was poor access to healthcare, because of this he lost his mother at age 8. Following her death he was inspired to become a doctor. With the help of his father and uncle he achieved his dreams. He completed his MBBS from Calcutta Medical College in 1955. He was awarded MS in Surgery from Darbhanga Medical College in India. He also went on to complete his FRCS from the UK.

Read more

Dr. Govind Prasad Sharma

Dr. Govind Prasad Sharma (Neupane) is the first Professor of Surgery in Nepal. He was born on 15th March 1947 in Phalame chaur of Ramechhap District of Nepal. Born to Late father Shri Narayan Prasad Upadhaya Neupane and Late mother Shrimati Haripriya Screen Shot 2022-04-12 at 2.54.33 PMUpadhaya Neupane as the seventh child of the family, Dr. Sharma got his MBBS and MS (General Surgery) degree from St. Petersburg, Russia. In the year 1977, he received his Ph.D. degree in Cardio-Thoracic Surgery following which he received his post-doctoral fellowship in Cardiovascular Surgery from Japan and USA. He is also a fellow of the College of physicians and surgeons of Pakistan (FCPS), International College of Surgeons (FICS), and National Academy of Medical Sciences (NAMS).

During the year 1977, he worked as a medical officer in Bir hospital following which he became a lecturer of community medicine at the Institute of Medicine (IOM), Maharajgunj.

Read more

Prof Bhola Raj Joshi

Prof BRJ






Professor Dr. Mahesh Khakurel,

Professor Dr. Mahesh Khakurel, former Head of the Department of Surgery, Tribhuwan University Teaching Hospital is the immediate past President of the Surgical Society of Nepal. He completed his MBBS from Punjab University, India in 1969 and did his post-graduate training in Surgical Gastroenterology, at Hyogo University, Japan. Prof MK

His interest in a career in Surgery took him to the UK where he completed his fellowship at the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh, UK in 1981. He served as the vice president of Society of Surgeons of Nepal in the Executive committee of 1995 – 1997 and as the President  later (997 – 1999).


Read more


Prof Prakash Sayami


Prof P S






 Professor Dr. Pradeep Vaidya

Professor Dr. Pradeep Vaidya, the current Dean of Examinations, Institute of Medicine, TU, Prof PVis the sixth Head of Department of General Surgery of Tribhuwan University Teaching Hospital. His work is renowned in the field of General and GI surgery as well as disaster management by health systems in Nepal. Having received his clinical fellowship and Ph.D in Hepato Biliary Pancreatic Surgery from Mie University School of Medicine (Mei, Japan), he has established himself as one of pioneers of minimally invasive surgery in the country. Along with his expertise in the field of surgery, he has received numerous trainings on primary trauma care management, as well as Palliative Care. He has also made numerous key contributions to the development of medical education in Nepal.

Read more

 Professor Dr. Sushil Krishna ShilpakarSushilKrishnaShilpakar-214x202

Professor Dr. Sushil Krishna Shilpakar is the seventh Head of Department of General Surgery of Tribhuwan University Teaching Hospital. His is a renowned neurosurgeon and has received a fellowship in General, Cerebrovascular and Endoscopic Neurosurgery. With over thirty years of clinical experience, Dr. Shilpakar has participated in over fifty national and international conferences with close to 100 scientific paper/poster presentations.

Read more

Professor Dr. Yogendra Prasad Singh

Professor Dr. Yogendra Prasad Singh is the eighth Head of Department of General Surgery of Tribhuwan University Teaching Hospital. His contribution to his alma-mater has been significant in terms of improvement and establishment of the surgical oncology team at the hospital, taking TUTH one step further towards becoming a true tertiary care center. prof YPS

He is the founding Vice-Chairman of the SAARC Federation of Oncologists-Nepal and was the Chairman of the International College of Surgeons-Nepal. Currently, he serves on the board of numerous essential organizations such as: the Asian Oncology Society, and Nepal Health Research Council. He is the project directory of Suresh Wagle Memorial Cancer Center, TUTH and Director of Research at the Institute of Medicine, Nepal.

Read more