Category Archives: Uncategorized

Screen Shot 2022-05-10 at 7.16.34 PM

4th International Cancer Congress


The 4th International Cancer Congress was conducted at Janakpur on16th april 2022. It is an educational meeting intended to improve the care of cancer patients in South Asia by educating cancer care providers about the latest developments in the field of cancer, and their applications in the local context. This international oncology conference featured renowned faculty from the United States and Nepal.

Professor Yogendra Prasad Singh, HOD of the Department of General Surgery presented on ‘Surgical approach to management of breast cancer’. Systemic therapy in breast cancer – key concepts  was presented by Dr. Siddhartha Yadav.  Dr Rajesh Mandal presented on the Surgical approach to management of colorectal cancer.

Dr. Nirajan Subedi was awarded the Young Scientist Award 2022! He was awarded for his excellent cancer research presentation during 4th International Cancer Congress on April 16, 2022 Janakpur, Nepal.




The Department of Surgery was established in 1978. Prof. Anjani Kumar Sharma was responsible for establishment of the department, and was the founder Head of the Department. Prof. Govinda Prasad Sharma followed him and was succeeded by Prof. Bhola Raj Joshi, Prof. Mahesh Khakural, Prof. Prakash Sayami, Prof. Pradeep Vaidya. Currently Prof. Yogendra Prasad Singh is the head of Department.

In 1992, Postgraduate Medical Education Co-ordination Committee (PGMECC) was formed in coordination with Bir Hospital. MS General Surgery was started as a postgraduate course with four students enrolled in the first batch. From 2004 IOM and NAMS (academic wing of Bir Hospital) are running their own PG program separately. Both programs accept foreign nationals also who are mainly from India, Maldives and Bangladesh.

In 2008, MCh program was started in Surgical Gastroentorology, Urology, Neurosurgery, Cardiothoracic and Vascular Surgery. However, MCh in Plastic Surgery was started in 2010.

The Department of Surgery is located on the first floor at Annex I of the new building of TU Teaching Hospital. Since 2010, Cardiothoracic and vascular surgery functions as a separate department in Manmohan Cardio-thoracic Vascular and Transplant Center. On 22nd June 2016, Department of General and GI surgery, Department of Urosurgery, Department of Neurosurgery, Department of Plastic surgery started functioning as separate departments.

As of 2022, the Department General surgery has two professors, three Associate Professors, three lecturers and two teaching assistants.